Travel Series: Yangon – Part 1

I was on a business trip to Yangon on March 2013. I decided to spend time doing a series of street and landscape photography at this people friendly city. After checking into the hotel, I headed to the first location, the Shwedagon Pagoda.

The following photo was captured at the eastern gate of Shwedagon Pagoda. The sun was at the far end of the horizon, it cast a long shadow on the pedestrians.

"East Gate of Shwedagon Pagoda" Leica M9 21mm F4 Voigtlander
Leica M9 21mm F4 Voigtlander

The magnificent view of the pagoda as the sun casted its last ray of light.

M9 21mm F4 Voigtlander
M9 21mm F4 Voigtlander

There was plenty of photography motive and subject inside the temple.

M9 21mm F4 Voigtlander
M9 21mm F4 Voigtlander
M9 21mm F4 Voigtlander
M9 21mm F4 Voigtlander
M9 21mm F4 Voigtlander
M9 21mm F4 Voigtlander
M9 35mm Summicron
M9 35mm Summicron
M9 35mm Summicron
M9 35mm Summicron

Additional photos can be viewed at: http://www.pbase.com/kiah/shwedagon

Thanks for reading.

4 thoughts on “Travel Series: Yangon – Part 1

  1. Hi Kiah,

    I plan to purchase a used VC 21mm f/4 but I am a little apprehensive as it was reported by Ken Rockwell that this lens is not suitable for M9 as its rear nodal point is too close to the sensor. I would like to hear from you whether you have dexperienced any problem with is issue. Granted, in my opinion Ken has a commercial interest in his comments.

    1. Hi Edwin,

      Thanks for visiting my blog.

      I have been using the same VC 21mm F4 with the M9 and later on the M240 and Leica Monochrome. I did not encounter any problem. Considering the price to quality ratio, this lens is worth to buy. It is one of my favorite lens.

      1. Hi Kiah,

        Many thanks for the quick reply. I shall now good search for a used one. The Leica and Carl Zeiss is way above my budget.

        Beautiful shots. BTW do you code the VC 21mm f/4 and do you those adaptor that are milled for markings?

Leave a Reply

