Leica M Does Night Photography

Ever since I received my Leica M, I was keen to test out the high ISO (ISO 1600 and above) capability of the new CMOS sensor. I decided to test it at my favorite food store. This food store is famous for its stir-fried rice noodles, where many patrons come here for their supper. The lighting was very weak at the location. The ambient lighting made it an ideal location for the testing. I shot this set of photos with the 35mm Summicron ASPH using aperture priority mode and set the ISO to auto ISO. (click the image for sharper view)

ISO 6400 F4 1/45
ISO 6400 F4 1/45
ISO 3200 F2 1/60
ISO 3200 F2 1/60
ISO 400 F2.8 1/30
ISO 400 F2.8 1/30

Previously with my M9, I limited my ISO usage to1600 and below. With the Leica M, I am confidence to use ISO 1600 and above in ambient lighting environment. What do you think ? Your comments are welcome.

Leave a Reply

