Reasons I like the Sony A7s

Oh no ! I spent money on another camera again. It is a Sony A7s.  I have already had a Leica digital M system, Canon DSLR system and the Olympus Micro Four Third system. Do I really need this camera ? After testing the camera for a week, I found good “excuses” and “justifications” for my impulse purchased. Here are why :

1. Variety of Lens OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA This camera allows me to shoot with many variety of lens with a proper adapter. I am using  a Novoflex  adapter for my Leica M mount lens (21mm elmarit-M, 35mm Summicron M, 50mm Summicron M, Canon 50mm 1.4 LTM and 90mm elmarit-M). The focus peaking and focus point magnifying feature of the A7s are easy-to-use and practical when shooting with a non FE mount lens. The technique of shooting with focus peaking or focus point magnifying are quite easy to master. After a few trying, I was able to get good focusing on my subjects and it is no different as compared to the rangefinder focus patch system.

Photographed with an vintage Canon 50mm 1.4 LTM lens
Photographed with an vintage Canon 50mm 1.4 LTM lens

2. Size OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA The Sony A7s is a mirror-less camera. It is built without a bulky prism, thus it is much more compact as compared to a DSLR. The compactness of the A7s makes it unobtrusive when doing street photography.

The subject did not aware that I photographed him from a close distance.
The subject did not aware that I photographed him from a close distance.

DSC00196

3. Superior High ISO Capability

This camera is capable of capturing photos at very high ISO with superb image quality. The photos retain good details with minimum noise. Here are some photos captured at ISO 4000 to ISO 6400. Click on the link to view the photos at maximum resolution.

ISO 4000

ISO 5000

ISO 6400

A7s Gallery (High resolution files)

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

